Trident Results Virtual Event System

If you are entering a Virtual Event you will be expected to provide your own result and this page explains how to do that - it's really easy!

Event entry

Entering a Virtual Event is exactly the same as entering any other event on Trident Results. You create (or use an existing) a profile on the system and fill in the participant details for the event. Typically the details required for a Virtual Event will be much simpler than those required for a conventional one but you can expect to be asked for your name, gender, date of birth and any club affiliation. You won't be asked for things like emergency contact information or phone number. All the normal options for updating an managing your information apply, see our FAQ for more information.

You will receive a receipt by email in the normal way and this will include your unique Ticket link (see below). Your Tickets (your entries to events on our system) can all be found by logging in and then using the My Area menu - Tickets are one of the sub-items. The Ticket link on the receipt is just a quick link direct to your entry so you can add in the result later. If you lose your receipt you can just go direct to the Ticket in your profile to get a new one.


The Ticket link code on your receipt

Adding a result

Although the examples shown here are all single sport, single discipline events with just a finish time, the system can be used for multisport events and for events with splits or stages so the actual result entry process for the event you have entered may look a little different. However, the same principles apply: log in, find the Ticket and then enter your result - you may just need to enter multiple stage/leg or split times.

Once you have completed the run you wish to submit as your result you need to use the Ticket link (or go direct to the ticket) and enter the time you achieved and optionally upload supporting evidence. Suggested things to upload would be a picture or screenshot of your watch, your GPS device, your time in an app like Strava, Garmin Connect, etc or just a picture of yourself at the location you did the run. You can also enter a URL to the activity in your Strava / Garmin Connect / Endomondo / etc account and this will appear as a link on your results detail page next to the social media links (see below). If you are linking to your online profile your profile must be public for the link to work.

NOTE: please do NOT submit GPX or other GPS data files as these contain location information which you may not want to become public.

Use the 'Enter your result' button on the Ticket in your profile to enter your time.
You can enter your time and submit up to two supporting images and/or a link to your activity tracker. Some events may require the upload of one or more elements to validate your time.


IMPORTANT: Please note that these pictures will be public, they are the supporting evidence for your time. If you want to remove an image that you have uploaded see the Privacy section below - this follows exactly the same process for virtual results as it does for timed events.

If you are not happy with your time and you go and do the event again you can just re-submit the time and image(s) - you don't need to re-enter, just update the time.

Getting a link to your activity from Strava/Garmin Connect/Endomondo/etc is normally just a matter of selecting that activity and then using the 'Share' icon to get the URL for that activity. Specific instructions for your device/app will be readily available online, please don't ask us for detailed instructions!

Most events will have a maximum and minimum time set for the event - we are not expecting world records to be broken! - and all events will have a date range within which times can be submitted. Anything outside of these allowable times or dates will be ignored.

Your result is immediately published and the results page for the event is updated along with the leaderboard if that has been enabled. You can download a certificate of your time in the normal way - click your name in the results to get your detail page and you will see a link for the certificate.

The results page for the event is built as results are submitted

The results detail page showing additional information, your uploaded files and the certificate link

Privacy: hiding names/images

The privacy options available on a virtual event are exactly the same as those on a normally timed event. If you have set your privacy preferences in your profile these choices will be reflected on all the events in your profile. If you want to hide your name and/or any images associated with a specific result then this is done at the event level.

Log in to your profile and select My results and athletes from the My Area menu. Find the result you want to change the privacy setting on and click the 'hamburger' menu (three stacked lines) and then select Privacy.

You can choose to hide your name, your images or both.

Select the 'hamburger menu' on a result to change the privacy settings

Selecting the Hide images option will mask out any images you uploaded to support the result